Berkeley in the News Archive

Previous issues of Berkeley in the News are archived below. Past issues include summaries of the stories from that day as well as links to each story and source publication.

Monday, April 23, 2018
Sea creatures inspire prospective students at Cal Day, Travers Political Science Conference focuses on social media and political partisanship, Longevity increasingly linked to wealth
Friday, April 20, 2018
Bay Area Book Festival to be a bigger deal on campus this year, Fascinating fossil trove acquired by the Museum of Paleontology, New evolutionary insights from the superhuman spleens of the Bajau people
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Retrofitting campus buildings for earthquake safety, Evolutionary adaptation found among the extraordinary divers of Southeast Asia, DNA analysis reveals details of South Asian evolution, New partnership will boost e-sports on campus
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
The promise of carbon farming, Campus moves forward with plans to add student housing, Professor Glaser on implicit bias training
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
New thin-film material converts waste heat into energy, Fighting river blindness with LoaScope, Massive fossil collection from Calaveras Dam area heads to Berkeley's Museum of Paleontology, Professor McKinsey proposes theory explaining DAMA anomaly
Monday, April 16, 2018
Berkeley's progress graduating female computer scientists, Berkeley top-ranked for highly cited biochemistry publications, Thousands of Android apps potentially violating laws protecting children's online privacy
Friday, April 13, 2018
New agreement to boost student transfers to UC from community colleges, Lawmakers consider free speech bills, Professor Shapiro testifies against AT&T buyout of Time Warner, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater wraps up week at Cal Performances
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Berkeley named one of the country's best-value colleges, New battery tech won't need cobalt, A more efficient nerve stimulator, Machine-learning makes computer animation more realistic
Friday, April 7, 2018
Technologists helping to save the humanities, Campus considers using the Oxford Tract for student housing
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Statistics professor Fernando Pérez and the evolution of scientific publishing, Panamanian frogs offer hope for other threatened amphibians, Celebrating the 50th anniversary of Cal Performances's relationship with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Adding sustainability to the craft brewer's toolbox, Adolescents particularly at risk of phthalate exposure, Campanile's Great Bear Bell to toll for Martin Luther King Jr.
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Astronomers glimpse most distant star ever seen, Rehabilitating the image of leeches, Celebrating Larry Rinder's first decade at BAMPFA
Monday, April 2, 2018
Study finds "social jet lag" afflicts students whose classes aren't timed for their biological clocks, State suit against Sutter Health cites Berkeley study, Theater professor Mel Gordon has died
Thursday, March 29, 2018
How UC leads in college affordability, Berkeley bucks national flagship trend of enrolling more nonresident students, Cal Athletics update, Eating out raises phthalate exposure
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Building a remote nuclear reactor monitor that doubles as neutrino physics platform, A new theory about oceans on Mars, The soaring popularity of cryptocurrency and blockchain technology classes
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
The most dexterous robot yet, Atomically thin device emits light, Healthcare consolidation leads to higher prices, The inequity of solar policy
Monday, March 26, 2018
Berkeley and UC system celebrate 150th Charter Day, Admissions competitiveness surges at UC and CSU, Matías Tarnopolsky to leave Cal Performances
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Berkeley begins computational biology project with Tel Aviv University, Commissioned oratorio on Dreamers evolves with the times, Details count in education spending
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Professor Patterson shares Turing Award, Brewing a more sustainable beer, Students are gender-equalizing Wikipedia
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Volcanic activity and the rise to oceans on Mars, Berkeley's business, engineering and law schools make U.S. News' top ten list of best graduate schools, UC's 150 year anniversary
Monday, March 19, 2018
Professor Doudna discusses genius on CBS Sunday Morning, New polymer discovery could advance bioremediation and drug development, Jonathan Jarvis on conservation
Friday, March 16, 2018
Professor Bea on the bridge collapse in Florida, Gretchen Donehower on the border wall, Alum Aileen Suzara's ASUC pop-up
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Proposed tuition increase for nonresident students heads for full Board of Regents vote, A call for state investment in UC, Mapping apps make traffic congestion worse
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Four campus affiliates make SF Business Times' 40 Under 40 list, Sen. Kamala Harris to give commencement address, Professors Smoot and Bousso on Stephen Hawkings
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Legislators consider proposal to offer UC and CSU "full funding," Richmond Field Station holds open house of MFA student studios, Pop-ups at the ASUC dining room, A walking tour app for Telegraph Ave
Monday, March 12, 2018
Professor Rael's "proof of concept" Cabin of Curiosities, Demonstrating high school students impress veterans of 1968 high school walkouts in Los Angeles, Gallup survey finds students ambivalent about First Amendment
Friday, March 9, 2018
Hawaiian spiders showcase Darwinian phenomenon, Solving poverty will take more than electricity, Exploring the human fascination with faces
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Sinking land and rising tides will submerge many parts of the Bay Area's shoreline by 2100, Raising funds for cyber security, Study explores the gap between federal spending on the elderly and children
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Brown fat cells may provide target for new obesity drugs, Volcanologists warn the world should prepare for next massive eruption, A vicious cycle in climate change
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Labor Center offers policy changes that could make health care insurance more affordable in California, Professor Gadinis on the national security review of the Broadcom bid, Cal Band seeks a new director
Monday, March 5, 2018
Neurosciences discover important learning functions in the brain while retraining neurons, Professor David Caron dies, Greater Good Science Center offers its own Academy Awards
Friday, March 2, 2018
Researchers find neural basis for the "Law of Effect," Robotics team develops moving platform to train surgical robots, "I approve this message" mandate is backfiring
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Campus reaches resolution agreement on sexual misconduct cases, Breakthrough Listen and Berkeley's SETI, BAMPFA demonstrates the enduring appeal of ancient Chinese art
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Scientists discover new 'rock moisture' phenomenon saving some trees, Black holes may not be entirely impenetrable, Campus leaders make good progress on deficit
Monday, February 26, 2018
Gallant Lab maps the brain's cortex, Neanderthals created art long before Homo sapiens arrived in Europe, Conference will examine race and inequality 50 years after the Kerner Commission
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Lucky amateur provides stellar moment for all astronomers, Robotics symposium planned for May 11, Professor Xiao on China's information control vs. digital activism
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
CRISPR takes aim at sickle cell disease, State environmental law not the obstacle to new housing, Cal Overwatch team sweeps esports championship
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Professor Auerbach on the implications of the latest budget proposal, Professor Hoynes on food stamps, Professor Zimring on keeping schools safe
Friday, February 16, 2018
Free trade and prosperity, The "graying" of college presidents, A great weekend for Cal Performances and BAMPFA
Thursday, February 15, 2018
New CRISPR breakthrough aids DNA detection, Berkeley Law alum funds new consumer law center
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Fund for DACA students pends UCOP approval, Robots mimic cockroaches by slamming into walls and zooming up them, Cryptocurrency craze crimps SETI's style
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
New project to monitor water and climate conditions with drones and wireless sensors, Professor Weber on the possible cyberattack during Olympics' opening ceremony, Maria Echaveste on the Senate's DACA debate
Monday, February 12, 2018
Professor Hsiang on climate change and war, One year after the near-failure of the Oroville Dam, Professor Olney on stock market volatility
Friday, February 9, 2018
Professor Dragan profiled for her work teaching robots human values, A popular new class on cryptocurrencies, California's public education finance reform narrows achievement gaps
Thursday, February 8, 2018
New insights on ozone depletion and mass extinctions, DNA analysis ups calculation of mammal biodiversity, New support for the Big Bounce theory
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Professor Vissing-Jørgensen on stock market volatility, New genome study traces citrus fruit to the Himalayas, New IGS poll finds Republican incumbents facing lower approval ratings
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Campus spent nearly $4 million on security for three free speech events, Berkeley among the top 20 fund-raising universities
Monday, February 5, 2018
A new kind of water, Professor Moskowitz on new studies about cellphone radiation risk, Peregrine falcons nesting atop the Campanile again
Friday, February 2, 2018
Law school prepares students to tackle the legal issues of cryptocurrencies, One arrest made at Berkeley labor demonstration, A full weekend at BAMPFA
Thursday, February 1, 2018
A sharper view of the red blood cell's interior, Professor Yoo on President Trump's interference with intelligence cleanup, BAMPFA kicks off Ingmar Bergman's centennial
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Professor Yellen says goodbye to the Fed, Professor Walker on the moon and human lunacy, Where Wild Beauty and Science Meet
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Older students find their niche on campus, A breakthrough in photovoltaic windows, BAMPFA panel addresses free speech rights
Monday, January 29, 2018
Refuting the president's latest claim about the climate, Banks provide new funding for colleges, Taking new economic data with a grain of salt
Friday, January 26, 2018
Freshman Aaron Chow an intelligent investor at 19, Professor Tyler offers cautionary tale on the travel ban, Liv Ullman to visit BAMPFA for celebration of Ingmar Bergman's 100th birthday
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Chancellor Christ advocates a tuition increase at regents meeting, Justice Department expresses interest in conservative groups' free speech lawsuit, Study finds Prop. 47 helped reduce racial disparities in criminal justice system
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Professor Lifchez honored on Ed Roberts Day, The women you can't live with or without, Matching passion and purpose for happier careers
Monday, January 22, 2018
New technology promises better smart photovoltaic windows, Luis Mora welcomed home, A new policy for major campus events
Friday, January 19, 2018
Neuroscientists record a thought's progress through the brain, 100 million dead trees pose unimaginable threat, Human Rights Center calls attention to impact of Israeli tear gas
Monday, January 18, 2018
Luis Mora released on bond, Campus rolls out sexual violence/sexual harassment survey, Berkeley Earth joins NASA and NOAA in climate data release
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
The House introduces a new AI initiative, Student Luis Mora's plight moves the campus community, Dean Chemerinsky advocates for bill to fight corporate secrecy over public risks
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Professor Robin Lakoff on gender discussions in the Trump era, Professor George Lakoff on protecting our free press, Professor Reich on calling a spade a spade